How to export all your Facebook data


If you want to export your Facebook data, before deleting your account or just to make a backup, here’s how.

Facebook can be a very nice platform to stay in touch with loved ones, share content, etc. That being said, over the years the giant has collected a huge amount of data on us. Perhaps you have decided that it is time to permanently delete your account. If so, you might want to export all your personal data.

Fortunately, Facebook has introduced a tool to download a copy of its data. In this way, you will at least be able to find out what information the Menlo Park firm has on you, and make a conscious decision whether or not to delete your account. The process is quick and easy. Here’s what to do.

Export your Facebook data

  1. Log into your account.
  2. Go to the page dedicated to the tool: https://www.facebook.com/dyi
  3. Choose the data you want to export, dates, output file format and click Create File.

Why is the download not instant?

If the download doesn’t start immediately, don’t panic. According to Facebook, the process can take a few days. You can see the status of your request in the Available Copies tab. Yours should be marked In Progress.

When will I know my data is ready?

When your data is ready for download, Facebook sends you a notification.

How do I download my data?

Once your data is ready, return to the Upload your information page. On the Available Copies tab, click Download. You will need to enter your password for verification and the download can begin.

Can I choose which data to export?

Yes of course. Before finalizing your copy request, there is a list of data categories. Check or uncheck the desired categories or not to refine the result.

Will exporting my data remove it from Facebook?

No. Exporting your data simply creates a copy of your data, to make a backup, for example. It has no impact on your Facebook account.

Does Facebook keep my data after deleting my account?

No. According to Facebook, when you delete your account, all content generated by you is erased. That being said, logs can be kept, but your name will not be attached to them. You should therefore no longer be identifiable. In addition, posts and other content that involves you, such as photos posted by your loved ones, will persist as long as the loved ones keep their account.


Categories:   General

Tags:  ,

Comments