WhatsApp: How to send a temporary photo on Android


With View Once, the recipient of the message can view a photo or video once. The media will disappear when closing the WhatsApp application.

View Once is available in beta on Android. © tashatuvango – stock.adobe.com

View Once is a new feature of WhatsApp that allows you to remove media (photo or video) when the recipient has seen it once. It is available in beta on Android. His name in French has not yet been released.

Will Cathcart, CEO of WhatsApp and Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook (which owns the messaging system) announced earlier this month his upcoming arrival. The site WABetainfo detected the feature deployment in beta.

How to use View Once on WhatsApp?

If you benefit from this beta version, available on Android version 2.21.14.3, a new button will appear in your WhatsApp chats. It is the number 1 in a circle (see visual below). Just tap on it to activate the feature.

It is possible to use View Once even if the recipient does not yet benefit from it. He will be able to see the media and it will disappear when the application is closed.

© wabetainfo

The recipient will receive a message informing them of the ephemeral nature of the media just before opening it.

© wabetainfo

A feature for more privacy

The View Once feature will be available in conversations and groups on WhatsApp. You will be able to see who opened the media in “Message Info”.

For some time now, WhatsApp has wanted to strengthen the confidentiality of its application. In particular, the messaging service announced the arrival of another feature: ephemeral messages. Regarding View Once, there are still some precautions to take:

  • If you have deactivated the “Read receipts” option: the recipient will still be able to see if you have opened the medium. As the sender, you won’t be able to see when the recipient opens yours. In groups, you will be able to see when other participants open these ephemeral media.
  • If you have contacts blocked in common groups: they will still be able to see View Once media.
  • Recipients of the message will still be able to take screenshots of the photo or video, without notifying you.

Receive all digital news by email


Categories:   General

Comments